Encompassing an area of over 2,000 square miles, Sioux County lies in the extreme northwest corner of Nebraska. The topography is characteristic of the High Plains region with rolling prairie tablelands and deeply dissected escarpments and buttes. Major watersheds of northern Sioux County include Hat Creek and White River. The Niobrara River flows through the central portion of the county. The ridges, buttes, grasslands and badlands are beautiful and provide the backdrop for the BIG adventure that is Sioux County. Harrison (population 279) is the county seat and the only incorporated village in Sioux County. At the highest elevation of any Nebraska town (4,876 feet), Harrison bills itself as “Nebraska’s Top Town”.

View Larger Map